The Texas Points System

Driver Responsibililty Program

The Texas Driver Responsibility Program assigns points to moving violations classified as Class C misdemeanors committed after September 1, 2003. For each conviction, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will assign points to your license as follows:

  • Two points for a moving conviction in Texas or another state, except violations for speeding less than 10 percent above the posted speed limit not committed in a school zone; and
  • Three points for a moving conviction in Texas or another state that resulted in an accident.


If you accumulated 6 or more points during the preceding three years, you will be an assessed a surcharge of $100 for the first 6 points and $25 for each additional point. The Department of Public Safety should notify you if you have been given a fifth point. Points remain on your record for three years.
 
The Texas Department of Public Safety assesses a surcharge of $250 per year, if during the preceding three year period you have been convicted of “driving while license invalid” or “failure to maintain financial responsibility" (no automobile liability insurance).
 
The Texas Department of Public Safety assesses a surcharge of $100 per year, if during the preceding three year period you have been convicted of “driving without a valid license.”
 
These surcharges are in addition to any other fines, fees or administrative actions, and are cumulative. 

Failure to pay the surcharges within 30 days after a notice is sent by the Texas Department of Public Safety will result in the revocation of your Texas driving privileges until the surcharges and any related costs are paid.

Click here for a list of moving violations. 
 
CONTACT HAWKINS & WALKER PC
  
Surcharges can quickly add up and may be assessed for years. If you have been issued a traffic citation, we can help keep your record clean and avoid surcharges. 
  
At Hawkins & Walker PC, our mission is to provide clients with quality legal services and personalized attention.  We offer affordable prices and payment plans in some cases. For more information, or to schedule an appointment with one of our knowledgeable Fort Worth, Tarrant County Texas Point System traffic ticket attorneys, please contact us today.